Friends Of Plockton Music School

“Friends of Plockton Music School” was launched at our End of Year concert in June 2012.  

In the first instance, the Trust is intended to finance the already well established ‘fringe’ activities of the Centre, such as CD production, touring and outreach, and equipment purchase. The finance for these activities was removed from the budget when the Council required savings to be made in 2011. The initial target income to fund these activities is £30,000 per annum, but the medium term target is £50,000 per annum, which will greatly aid the Centre’s development and sustainability. 

The Trust is a Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisation (SCIO), and is funded mainly by annual membership subscriptions, although it is also possible for people to make one-off donations. Its constitution provides that funds raised are applied in support of the aims of NCETM and for the benefit of public education, so it also has the potential to be a resource for young musicians throughout Scotland, and could eventually generate additional income for activities such as scholarships and international development. It will also help to reduce dependence on Council funding, and to underpin the long-term sustainability of the Centre. 

The Chair of the Board of Trustees is broadcaster, money expert and piper Fergus Muirhead. He said, “The NCETM provides a great opportunity for some very talented musicians to develop their skills and it acts as a springboard allowing many of them to go on to pursue a successful career making music. It’s vital that the Centre continues to offer these opportunities and the money that the Trust intends to raise is important to help fund non-core activities that help to make the Centre an attractive and vibrant part of the music of Scotland. I’m delighted to be involved with this project.” 

Our future was placed in doubt in February 2011, when Highland Council proposed to withdraw its funding. A campaign of public support drew backing from a wide range of political viewpoints and prominent musical figures including Phil Cunningham, Julie Fowlis, Karine Polwart, Sheena Wellington, Brian McNeill, Margaret Bennett, and Donald Shaw. Consequently the Council’s decision was reviewed and funding was continued, albeit at a lower level.  

More information and the membership application form are available at 


  What's on  
Call us 01599 544706

This content comes from a hidden element on this page.

The inline option preserves bound JavaScript events and changes, and it puts the content back where it came from when it is closed.

If you try to open a new Colorbox while it is already open, it will update itself with the new content.